Piano Competitions


The International Chopin Piano Competition

A piano competition held in Warsaw, Poland to honour the name of Frédéric Chopin. It is one of the oldest and most prestigious music competitions in the world. It was initiated in 1927 and has been held every five years since 1955. It is one of few competitions devoted entirely to the works of a single composer.



The International Franz Liszt Piano Competition

The Competition is held in Utrecht in the Netherlands. It first took place in 1986, one hundred years after the death of Franz Liszt. The piano competition was well received from the outset by both concert audiences and the music press, and the resoundingly positive response to the first competition was a great incentive to continue. The success of the subsequent competitions made it very clear that there was no going back: the Liszt Competition had taken its place on the world stage of international piano competitions, and each of the seven subsequent competitions has only made the position of the International Franz Liszt Piano Competition more secure.

Since the first time the Liszt Competition was held it has had the privilege of welcoming over two hundred selected participants of extremely high calibre from all over the world.



The Van Cliburn International Piano Competition

The Van Cliburn International Piano Competition was first held in 1962 in Fort Worth, Texas and is hosted by Van Cliburn Foundation. It was created by Fort Worth area teachers in honor of Van Cliburn, who had won the first International Tchaikovsky Competition four years prior with Tchaikovsky's First Piano Concerto and Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 3.

The Van Cliburn Competition is held every four years (the year after the United States Presidential elections; thus, the next competitions will be held in 2013, 2017 and so forth). The winners and runners-up receive substantial cash prizes, plus concert tours at world-famous venues where they perform pieces of their choice. Previously held at Texas Christian University, the competition has been held at the Bass Performance Hall since 2001.



The International Tchaikovsky Competition

The International Tchaikovsky Competition is a classical music competition held every four years in Moscow, Russia for pianists, violinists, and cellists between 16 and 30 years of age, and singers between 19 and 32 years of age. The competition is named after Russian composer Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky and is an active member of the World Federation of International Music Competitions.

For the XIV competition in 2011, Valery Gergiev has been appointed Chairman of the Competition, and Richard Rodzinski, former president of the Van Cliburn Foundation, has been appointed Chair of the Working Committee. A new voting system will be instituted, created by mathematician John MacBain, and used by the International Violin Competition in Indianapolis, the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, and the Cleveland International Piano Competition. All rules and regulations have also undergone a complete revision. Emphasis is being placed on the composition of the jury, which is to consist primarily of well-known and respected performing artists. Finally, for all competitions from 2011 forward, a first prize will always be awarded.

The XIV International Tchaikovsky Competition was held in Moscow and St. Petersburg, Russia, from June 14 to July 1, 2011, under the auspices of the Russian Federal Government and its Ministry of Culture. The Competition disciplines are piano, violin, cello and voice (male singers and female singers).



Other competitions:

Copyright (c) 2022 - canspace